Congratulations to the 2018 Leadership Edinburg Class XXIX Graduates

Edinburg – On May 23, 2018, the 29th year of Leadership Edinburg was highlighted with the graduation of 11 participants during a ceremony held at the Edinburg Conference Center at Renaissance. Robert C. Vackar, Chief Performance Officer and Chairman of the Board of Bert Ogden Auto Group presented the keynote address to the graduates expressing the importance of leadership and staying active in local community affairs. Class XXIX completed several events including a two-day leadership retreat and sessions that focused on education, healthcare, history, media, economics, government, quality of life and community service.

Each Leadership class selects a project that they work on together and complete within one year of the program. Class XXIX completed their Inclusive Playground Project at Norma Linda Trevino Park. Leadership Edinburg XXIX unveiled two brand-new pieces of equipment and an inclusive space for special needs kids to enjoy with all children. Leadership Edinburg is a program of the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce; it’s a growing organization that strives to encourage a better Edinburg through strong leadership skills focusing on politics, education, and quality of life. For more information on Leadership Edinburg please call the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce at 956-383-4974 or visit us online at

The Edinburg Chamber celebrated Leadership Edinburg Class XXIX graduation on Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at the Edinburg Conference Center at Renaissance. Eleven graduates from our business community were honored for completing the nine-month program. Pictured Left to Right: Johnny Rodriguez (Bert Ogden Auto Group- Public Relations), Abel Garza (Wells Fargo), Marivel Valdez (Open Range Enterprises), Nydia M. Trevino (Memorial Funeral Home), Erica Perez (RGV Town Planner), Monica Ann Vega (Oceangate Hospitality), Robert C. Vackar (Bert Ogden Auto Group), Mayor Richard Molina (City of Edinburg), Mary Lou Escobedo (Escobedo & Cardenas, LLP), Maricruz Z. Nieto (Townplace Suites by Marriott), Priscilla C. Whiteaker (Farmers Insurance), Joe A. Delgado (Halff Associates) and John Mark Atchley (South Texas Health System Edinburg).